Prairie-Hills Elementary School District 144
District Annex Board Room
Markham, Illinois 60428

Monday, May 1, 2023

1. Call to Order and Pledge of Allegiance (2:220)

President Sharron Davis called the meeting to order at 5:15pm.

2. Oath of Office for New Board Members

Ms. Joyce Dickerson, re-elected, Ms. Aubry Crain, Dr. Sylinda Musaindapo, and Ms. Vicki Walker, newly elected members, all took the Official Oath of Office officiated by Mayor Roger Agpawa, City of Markham and the Honorable Judge Toya Harvey.

3. Nomination of President Pro Tem

Ms. Sharron Davis was nominated by Ms. Joyce Dickerson as the President Pro Tem. On voice vote the following members voted aye: Carlene Matthews, Yvette Black, Joyce Dickerson, Vicki Walker, Sylinda Musaindapo, Aubry Crain and Sharron Davis. Nays: None. Absent: Juanita Jordan, Barbara Nettles, and Kathy Taylor.

Motion Carried

4. Adjourn Sine Die

President Pro Tem Sharron Davis adjourned Sine Die. On voice vote the following members voted aye: Carlene Matthews, Yvette Black, Joyce Dickerson, Vicki Walker, Sylinda Musaindapo, Aubry Crain and Sharron Davis. Nays: None. Absent: Juanita Jordan, Barbara Nettles, and Kathy Taylor.

Motion Carried

5. Call to Order-President Pro Tem

President Pro Tem Sharron Davis called the Special Board Meeting to order at 5:25p.m.

6. Roll Call (2:220)

The following members were present: Ms. Joyce Dickerson, Dr. Sylinda Musaindapo, Ms. Aubry Crain, Ms. Yvette Black, Ms. Sharron Davis, Ms. Carlene Matthews and Ms. Vicki Walker. Members absent: None.

Also present were: Dr. Kimako Patterson, Superintendent, Dr. Kenneth Scott, Assistant Superintendent, Dr. Tiffany Burnett, Assistant Superintendent, Ms. Theresa Smith, Director of Student Services, Mr. Leonard Hill, Director of Technology, and Dr. Terry O'Brien, Interim Chief School Business Official.

7. Election of Officers

a) Nomination and Election of President- Two Year Term

 Nominee Joyce Dickerson- on voice vote the following members voted aye: Dr. Musaindapo, Ms. Matthews, Ms. Walker, Ms. Dickerson, Ms. Black, Ms. Crain, and Ms. Davis. Nays: None. Absent: None.

Motion Carried

b) Nomination and Election of Vice President- Two Year Term

 Nominee Yvette Black- on voice vote the following members voted aye: Ms. Crain, Dr. Musaindapo, Ms. Walker, Ms. Dickerson, Ms. Black, Ms. Matthews, and Ms. Davis. Nays: None. Absent: None.

Motion Carried

c) Nomination and Election of Secretary- Two Year Term

Nominee Aubry Crain- on voice vote the following members voted aye: Ms. Black, Ms. Walker, Ms. Dickerson, Ms. Matthews, Ms. Crain, Dr. Musaindapo, and Ms. Davis. Nays: None. Absent: None.

Motion Carried

8. New Business

Dr. Patterson and the Board decided to discuss the committee assignments at a later time.

9.	Executive Session (2:200) N/A
10.	Adjournment (2:200) Ms. Black moved and it was seconded by Ms. Davis to adjourn the May 1, 2023 Special Board Meeting. On voice vote, all members present voted aye: Nays: None. Absent: None.
	Motion Carried 5:45p.m.
	Submitted by,
	Joyce Dickerson, President
	Aubry Crain, Secretary